Print    Close This Window
National Merit Commended Students and Scholarship Semifinalists

Vestal High School Principal Clifford R. Kasson is pleased to announce that three Vestal High School seniors, Patrick Sampson, Ewa Sulicz and Joyce Zhu, have qualified as Semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship competition. These academically talented high school seniors were among the approximately 16,000 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists announced nationwide. They will have an opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 7,500 scholarship awards worth more than 32 million that will be offered next spring as part of the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

In addition, Mr. Kasson is proud to announce that five Vestal High School students have been named Commended Students. Letters of commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program, have been received by Teresa Deskur, William Hirschi, Kelsey Horn, Kathryn Labosky and Dana Sullivan. Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition when they took the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.

“We are very proud of our Semifinalists and Commended Students for their accomplishments,” said Principal Kasson. “We also want to acknowledge our school community, parents and K – 12 district staff for their continued support of all students.”

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share its goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.